About Us

 

MISSION

To provide emergency and supplemental food
to the people in need in Nebraska and western Iowa.

VISION

To eliminate hunger in our community.

VALUES

In everything we do,
we serve with respect, integrity and urgency.

 
 

Our History

Founded in 1981 and headquartered in Omaha, Nebraska, Food Bank for the Heartland is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that distributes food to 600 food pantries, schools, emergency shelters and other nonprofit partners. We are the largest food bank in Nebraska and Iowa, serving 93 counties in the two-state region.

Fighting hunger is an ongoing, collaborative effort. We work with individuals, organizations, food manufacturers and distributors, grocery stores, the USDA and Feeding America to procure food. The Food Bank also purchases food to supplement donations. For every dollar we receive, we can provide three meals.

Food Bank for the Heartland operates its own programs that serve vulnerable populations directly. They include Kids Cafe, BackPack, Mobile Pantry, SNAP and Kids Cruisin’ Kitchen. As the number of hungry children, families and seniors increases, these programs expand to meet the growing need.

We moved to our current 76,000 square-foot facility in 2011. In FY 2021, we provided 37,070,228 meals to our neighbors across the Heartland. We are grateful to the individuals, organizations and companies that support our vision of eradicating hunger in our community by donating time, money and food.

2020 Annual Report
2019 Annual Report
2020 Audit
2019 Audit
2020 Form 990
2019 Form 990
 

1981

A need for a food bank in Omaha
Read more

1981

The first year of operation
Read more

1985

The Food Bank’s client base grows rapidly
Read more

1986

Chuck Raffensperger is named the executive director
Read more

1993

Don Schinzel is named the third executive director
Read more

1998

ConAgra Foods Foundation
Read more

1999

Upgrades to a larger building
Read more

2001

The first Kids Cafe site opens
Read more

2006

The BackPack program launches
Read more

2009

The Food Bank welcomes Susan E. Ogborn as president and CEO
Read more

2009

New name and logo
Read more

2011

Food Bank for the Heartland relocates
Read more

2011

Kids Cruisin’ Kitchen program
Read more

2014

Ruth Scott Volunteer Center
Read more

2015

15.8 million pounds of food
Read more

2018

The Food Bank welcomes Brian Barks as president and CEO.
Read more

Who we are

Leadership
Staff directory
Board of Directors
President’s message

Coming Soon

 Brian Barks
  President & CEO
  BBarks@FoodBankHeartland.org

Coming Soon

 Donna Naimoli
  Senior Executive Assistant
  DNaimoli@FoodBankHeartland.org

Coming Soon

 Leslie Delperdang
  VP, Finance & Accounting
  LDelperdang@FoodBankHeartland.org

Coming Soon

 Kelly Ptacek
  VP, External Affairs
  KPtacek@FoodBankHeartland.org

Coming Soon

 Ericka Smrcka
  VP, Operations
  ESmrcka@FoodBankHeartland.org

Yessi Acevedo
SNAP (NE) Direct Service Specialist
YAcevedo@FoodBankHeartland.org
Brenna Ashbrook
Philanthropy Systems & Database Manager
BAshbrook@FoodBankHeartland.org
Melissa Barfield
Community & Partner Support Representative
MBarfield@FoodBankHeartland.org
Brian Barks
President & CEO
BBarks@FoodBankHeartland.org
Leonard Baxter
Driver – Class A CDL
LBaxter@FoodBankHeartland.org
Margie Bell
Senior Director of Human Resources
MBell@FoodBankHeartland.org
Belinda Boelter
Social Media & Digital Marketing Manager
BBoelter@FoodBankHeartland.org
Kim Boham
Iowa Food Assistant Specialist
KBoham@FoodBankHeartland.org
Mark Borer
Driver – Class A CDL
MBorer@FoodBankHeartland.org
Kezia Boyd
Iowa Food Assistance Specialist
KBoyd@FoodBankHeartland.org
Catherine Burghart
Office Manager
CBurghart@FoodBankHeartland.org
Mike Burke
Volunteer Center Specialist
MBurke@FoodBankHeartland.org
Megan Burton
Community & Partner Support Manager
MBurton@FoodBankHeartland.org
Travis Carlson
Director of Marketing & Communications
TCarlson@FoodBankHeartland.org
Yexica Chacon
SNAP (NE) Direct Service Specialist
YChacon@FoodBankHeartland.org
Dan Cherek
Receiving Specialist
DCherek@FoodBankHeartland.org
Tanner Classen
Distribution Center Specialist
TClassen@FoodBankHeartland.org
Spencer Cohorst
Community & Partner Support Representative
SCohorst@FoodBankHeartland.org
Leslie Delperdang
VP, Finance & Accounting
LDelperdang@FoodBankHeartland.org
Amber DeVries
Clean Room Specialist
ADevries@FoodBankHeartland.org
Jenny DeVries
Community & Partner Support Representative
JDevries@FoodBankHeartland.org
Erika Drummond
Driver – Class A CDL
EDrummond@FoodBankHeartland.org
James Farley
Distribution Center Specialist
JFarley@FoodBankHeartland.org

Lea Franck
Community & Partner Support Manager
LFranck@FoodBankHeartland.org
Jeff Gross
Janitorial Specialist
JGross@FoodBankHeartland.org
Mike Gudenrath
Donor Relations Manager
MGudenrath@FoodBankHeartland.org
Kerry Heaton
Community & Partner Support Representative
KHeaton@FoodBankHeartland.org
Danielle Helm
Food Sourcing Specialist
DHelm@FoodBankHeartland.org
Edward Helm
Transportation & Facilities Coordinator
EHelm@FoodBankHeartland.org
Bety Jauregui-Vargas
Iowa Food Assistance Specialist
BJaureguiVargas@FoodBankHeartland.org
Maria Hernandez
SNAP (NE) Direct Service Specialist
MHernandez@FoodBankHeartland.org
Linda Jacoby
Data & Partner Coordinator
LJacoby@FoodBankHeartland.org
Nicholas Jansen
Driver – Class A CDL
NJansen@FoodBankHeartland.org
Joanne Kamppinen
Director of Development
JKamppinen@FoodBankHeartland.org
Jake Kampschneider
Community & Partner Support Representative
JKampschneider@FoodBankHeartland.org
Joshua LaFavre
IA Food Assistance Specialist
JLaFavre@FoodBankHeartland.org
LaTasha Lasher
SNAP (NE) Direct Service Specialist
LLasher@FoodBankHeartland.org
Ben Linstadt
Distribution Center Manager
BLinstadt@FoodBankHeartland.org
Nicholas Long
Financial Accountant
NLong@FoodBankHeartland.org
David Love
Senior Director of Operations
DLove@FoodBankHeartland.org
Shelley Mann
Director of Public Benefit Programs
SMann@FoodBankHeartland.org
Allison Minard
Perishable Coordinator
AMinard@FoodBankHeartland.org
Jason Moucka
Director of Food Sourcing & Processing
JMoucka@FoodBankHeartland.org
Joani Mullin
Community Engagement Officer
JMullin@FoodBankHeartland.org
Sallie Myers
Food Sourcing & Volunteer Center Manager
SMyers@FoodBankHeartland.org
Donna Naimoli
Senior Executive Assistant
DNaimoli@FoodBankHeartland.org

James Nance
Distribution Center Specialist
JNance@FoodBankHeartland.org
Keenan Nelson
Driver – Class A CDL
KNelson@FoodBankHeartland.org
Dave Nygard
Receiving Specialist
DNygard@FoodBankHeartland.org
Allison Oberg
Child Hunger Coordinator
AOberg@FoodBankHeartland.org
Sylvester Osborne
Clean Room Specialist
SOsborne@FoodBankHeartland.org
Ron Penzkowski
IA Direct Service SNAP Manager
RPenzkowski@FoodBankHeartland.org
Brandy Pirnie
Community & Partner Support Representative
BPirnie@FoodBankHeartland.org
Kelly Ptacek
VP, External Affairs
KPtacek@FoodBankHeartland.org
Stephanie Reicks
IA SNAP Intake Specialist
SReicks@FoodBankHeartland.org
Sarah Sadler
Volunteer Coordinator
SSadler@FoodBankHeartland.org
Lee Sandhoefner
Volunteer Center Specialist
LSandhoefner@FoodBankHeartland.org
Michelle Sause
Director of Network Relations
MSause@FoodBankHeartland.org
Carolyn Schaeffer
Quality Assurance & Training Manager
CSchaeffer@FoodBankHeartland.org
Kathy Scheid
Gift Processing Specialist
KScheid@FoodBankHeartland.org
Isaiah Smiley
Distribution Center Specialist
ISmiley@FoodBankHeartland.org
Tim Smiley
Transportation & Facilities Manager
TSmiley@FoodBankHeartland.org
Ericka Smrcka
VP, Operations
ESmrcka@FoodBankHeartland.org
Stephanie Sullivan
Communications & Media Relations Manager
SSullivan@FoodBankHeartland.org
Jerlyn Swiatlowski 
Annual Giving Officer
JSwiatlowski@FoodBankHeartland.org
Matt Warren
Driver – Class A CDL
MWarren@FoodBankHeartland.org
Annie Weingart
Human Resources Generalist
AWeingart@FoodBankHeartland.org
Dee Wright
SNAP (NE) Direct Service Team Lead
DWright@FoodBankHeartland.org

Denise McCauley, Chair
WoodmenLife
Chad Werner, Chair-elect
Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Nebraska
Craig Kinnison, Secretary
Farm Credit Services of America
Nate Christ, Treasurer
Elemental Scientific
Brian Barks, President
Food Bank for the Heartland
Daniel Applegarth
Orion
Eric R. Arneson
Lindsay
Jeff Austin
Huffman Engineering, Inc.

Tom Burke
Dell Technologies
Angi Chamberlain
Valmont
Roger Deal
Sequoia Wealth Partners, LLC
Matthew DeBoer
HDR
Greg Fripp
Whispering Roots
Rick Hansen
Conagra Brands
Tiffani Keckler
Five Points Bank

Tom McLaughlin
OneWorld Community Health Centers
Duncan Murphy
Riekes Equipment
Elizebeth Murphy
Emspace + Lovgren
Melissa Taylor
M&E Consulting
Susan Violi
MECA
Steve Wallace
PayPal
Stephen E. Gehring, Legal Counsel
Cline Williams

FALL 2021

As we head into fall in the Heartland, I remain in awe of the power of our community to come together and serve our neighbors in need. Together, we’ve weathered years of literal and figurative storms. And though we’ve shared heartbreak, devastation, and uncertainty, we’ve met these challenges with compassion, grit, and an outpouring of generosity.

 

The lessons we’ve learned along the way have led to stronger partnerships and impactful innovation. A striking example of this is an initiative launched earlier this year. With support from our friends at Cargill and Feeding America, we built a regional USDA-certified “clean room.” This facility allows us to safely process large protein donations from Cargill and others — and prepare it for distribution across our network.

 

Our clean room helps us address a significant need for those facing hunger. Items rich in protein, particularly meat products, provide key nutrition and often serve as the main ingredient in popular dishes, but they’re generally more expensive and less frequently donated than other foods. The ability to accept bulk protein and portion it into family-friendly packages allows us to distribute high-quality, healthy food for more families in need. Since its launch, more than 126,558 pounds of protein have been repacked through our clean room!

 

As we look to expand the footprint, staffing, and capacity of our clean room in FY 2021-2022, we continue to pursue other opportunities to serve more people in more ways, an endeavor only made possible through the support of our donors, volunteers, and partners. Together, we are a powerful and growing force for good, filling families with hope and their tables with healthy food. Thank you for being a part of it.

 

FAQs

How does food banking work?

Print

  1. Donations

    Individuals, businesses, foundations, USDA, and organizations donate food, funds and volunteer time

  2. Central collection

    The Food Bank collects and distributes food to network partners and direct distribution programs

  3. Distribution

    Food pantries, shelters, schools, soup kitchens, mobile pantries and child nutrition programs organize distribution

  4. Support

    Food is provided to people who are struggling with hunger in Nebraska and western Iowa

What is a food bank?

A food bank is a non-profit organization that collects and distributes food to hunger-relief charities. Food Bank for the Heartland works with individuals, organizations, food manufacturers and distributors, grocery stores, the USDA and Feeding America to procure food. We also purchase food to supplement donations. The food is warehoused in our distribution center, and with help from volunteers, it is sorted, packed and re-distributed across Nebraska and western Iowa.

How does food at the Food Bank reach people in need?

The Food Bank distributes food to nearly 600 non-profit organizations in Nebraska and western Iowa such as pantries, schools, emergency shelters and meal providers. These organizations then distribute food to individuals and families in need in their communities.

What food items are needed most at the Food Bank?

Items in the highest demand include those the Food Bank often buys. The list includes macaroni and cheese, peanut butter, rice, pancake mix, canned chicken, boxed potatoes, canned fruit and canned green beans.

Where does Food Bank for the Heartland receive its food?

In FY 2021, 31.8 percent of the food received by the Food Bank came from individual and corporate donors such as manufacturers, grocers and retail stores; 43.5 percent was purchased by the Food Bank; 24.7 percent came from USDA commodities

Does Food Bank for the Heartland sell food?

No. The IRS prohibits food banks from selling food.