About Us

 

MISSION

To provide emergency and supplemental food
to the people in need in Nebraska and western Iowa.

VISION

To eliminate hunger in our community.

VALUES

In everything we do,
we serve with respect, integrity and urgency.





 
 

Our History

Founded in 1981 and headquartered in Omaha, Nebraska, Food Bank for the Heartland is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that distributes food to 535 food pantries, schools, emergency shelters and other nonprofit partners. We are the largest food bank in Nebraska and Iowa, serving 93 counties in the two-state region.

Fighting hunger is an ongoing, collaborative effort. We work with individuals, organizations, food manufacturers and distributors, grocery stores, the USDA and Feeding America to procure food. The Food Bank also purchases food to supplement donations. For every dollar we receive, we can provide three meals.

Food Bank for the Heartland operates its own programs that serve vulnerable populations directly. They include Kids Cafe, BackPack, Mobile Pantry, SNAP and Kids Cruisin’ Kitchen. As the number of hungry children, families and seniors increases, these programs expand to meet the growing need.

We moved to our current 76,000-square-foot facility in 2011. During FY 2017, we distributed 22 million meals to our nonprofit partners that have touched the lives of people in the community. We are grateful to the individuals, organizations and companies that support our vision of eradicating hunger in our community by donating time, money and food.

2015 Form 990
2017 Audit
 

1981

A need for a food bank in Omaha
Read more

1981

The first year of operation
Read more

1985

The Food Bank’s client base grows rapidly
Read more

1986

Chuck Raffensperger is named the executive director
Read more

1993

Don Schinzel is named the third executive director
Read more

1998

ConAgra Foods Foundation
Read more

1999

Upgrades to a larger building
Read more

2001

The first Kids Cafe site opens
Read more

2006

The BackPack program launches
Read more

2009

The Food Bank welcomes Susan E. Ogborn as president and CEO
Read more

2009

New name and logo
Read more

2011

Food Bank for the Heartland relocates
Read more

2011

Kids Cruisin’ Kitchen program
Read more

2014

Ruth Scott Volunteer Center
Read more

2015

15.8 million pounds of food
Read more

Who are we

Leadership
Staff directory
Board of Directors
President’s message

Ericka Smrcka

Susan E. Ogborn
President & CEO
SOgborn@FoodBankHeartland.org

 


Alexandra Goswami
Director of Finance & Accounting
AGoswami@FoodBankHeartland.org

 


Dave Love

Dave Love
Director of Distribution Center
DLove@FoodBankHeartland.org

LB

La Ronda Birch
Director of Human Resources
LBirch@FoodBankHeartland.org

Ericka Smrcka

Ericka Smrcka
Director of Network & Client Services
ESmrcka@FoodBankHeartland.org

 


Brian Barks

Brian Barks
Director of Philanthropy & Communications
BBarks@FoodBankHeartland.org

Anna Adams
SNAP Intake Specialist
AAdams@FoodBankHeartland.org
Mayra Anaya
SNAP Outreach Specialist
MAnaya@FoodBankHeartland.org
Emily Barber
Capacity-Building Coordinator
AmeriCorps VISTA Member
EBarber@FoodBankHeartland.org
Melissa Barfield
Network Relations Specialist
MBarfield@FoodBankHeartland.org
Kim Boham 
SNAP Outreach Specialist
KBoham@FoodBankHeartland.org
Megan Burton
Network Compliance Coordinator
MBurton@FoodBankHeartland.org
Spencer Cohorst
Volunteer Coordinator
SCohorst@FoodBankHeartland.org
Jenny Devries
SNAP Outreach Specialist
JDevries@FoodBankHeartland.org
Chelsea Ensor
Network Relations Compliance Manager
CEnsor@FoodBankHeartland.org
Lea Franck
Manager of Network Expansion
LFranck@FoodBankHeartland.org
Angela Grote
Communications Manager
AGrote@FoodBankHeartland.org

Mike Gudenrath
Food Sourcing Manager
MGudenrath@FoodBankHeartland.org
Michelle Guebara
SNAP Intake Specialist
MGuebara@FoodBankHeartland.org
Elida Guzman
Network Relations Specialist
EGuzman@FoodBankHeartland.org
Kerry Heaton 
SNAP Outreach Specialist
KHeaton@FoodBankHeartland.org
Shelley Mann
Assistant Director of SNAP
SMann@FoodBankHeartland.org
Melaney McCroy
SNAP Outreach Specialist
MMcCroy@FoodBankHeartland.org
Jason Moucka
Manager of Network Relations
JMoucka@FoodBankHeartland.org
Allison Moy-Borgen
Network Compliance Coordinator
AMoyBorgen@FoodBankHeartland.org
Joani Mullin
Community Engagement Officer
JMullin@FoodBankHeartland.org
Jason Murphy
Accounting Specialist
JMurphy@FoodBankHeartland.org
Sallie Myers
Food Sourcing Specialist
SMyers@FoodBankHeartland.org

Natalie Nelson
SNAP Intake Manager
NNelson@FoodBankHeartland.org
Maureen Pauly-Hubbard
Capacity-Building Coordinator
AmeriCorps VISTA Member
MPaulyHubbard@FoodBankHeartland.org
Stephani Romero
Brand Manager
SRomero@FoodBankHeartland.org
Vallary Ross
Capacity-Building Coordinator
AmeriCorps VISTA Member
VRoss@FoodBankHeartland.org
Ann Rourke
Philanthropy Officer
ARourke@FoodBankHeartland.org
Michelle Sause
Assistant Director of Network Relations
MSause@FoodBankHeartland.org
Margaret Schill
Food Sourcing Specialist
MSchill@FoodBankHeartland.org
Tim Smiley
Warehouse & Transportation Manager
TSmiley@FoodBankHeartland.org
Annissa Zynda
Capacity-Building Coordinator
AmeriCorps VISTA Member
AZynda@FoodBankHeartland.org

Tara Stingley, Chairman 
Cline Williams
Mary Balluff, Chair-elect
Community Volunteer
Sally Christensen, Secretary
First National Bank
Nate Christ, Treasurer
Access Bank
Susan E. Ogborn, President
Food Bank for the Heartland
Jeff Austin
Community Volunteer

Roger Deal
Sequoia Wealth Partners, Inc.
Zac Fredrickson
Holland Basham Architects
Craig Kinnison
Farm Credit Services of America
Denise McCauley
WoodmenLife
Tom McLaughlin
One World Health Center
Todd Moeller
Alley Poyner Macchietto Architecture

Susan Nelson
Community Volunteer
Melissa Taylor
Mutual of Omaha
David Ulferts
UNL Extension
Chad Werner
First Data Corporation
Jim Winterscheid
Travel & Transport
Stephen Gehring, Legal Counsel
Cline Williams

Hunger doesn’t take a summer vacation. In Nebraska and western Iowa, nearly one in five children is food insecure – meaning more than 82,000 Heartland kids may not have access to regular meals. This is a time of year when at-risk children are especially vulnerable as school meals are not available. Low-income families struggle with increased food costs often compounded with child care costs during the summer months.

Food Bank for the Heartland and our community of supporters are committed to helping these children and their families during this critical time. There are ways you may get involved too. We need volunteers throughout the summer to repack apples, peppers and other fresh produce; to pack food bags for our BackPack program that will resume when school begins; to sort shelf-stable products. You can also make a financial donation. A gift of $10 enables us to provide 30 meals.

Have a safe and happy summer. Thank you for being a part of our generous community helping others who are less fortunate enjoy their summers too.

Sincerely,

Susan Ogborn
President & CEO

 

 

FAQs

How does food banking work?

Print

  1. Donations

    Individuals, businesses, foundations, USDA, and organizations donate food, funds and volunteer time

  2. Central collection

    The Food Bank collects and distributes food to network partners and direct distribution programs

  3. Distribution

    Food pantries, shelters, schools, soup kitchens, mobile pantries and child nutrition programs organize distribution

  4. Support

    Food is provided to people who are struggling with hunger in Nebraska and western Iowa

What is a food bank?

A food bank is a non-profit organization that collects and distributes food to hunger-relief charities. Food Bank for the Heartland works with individuals, organizations, food manufacturers and distributors, grocery stores, the USDA and Feeding America to procure food. We also purchase food to supplement donations. The food is warehoused in our distribution center, and with help from volunteers, it is sorted, packed and re-distributed across Nebraska and western Iowa.

How does food at the Food Bank reach people in need?

The Food Bank distributes food to 535 non-profit organizations in Nebraska and western Iowa such as pantries, schools, emergency shelters and meal providers. These organizations then distribute food to individuals and families in need in their communities.

What food items are needed most at the Food Bank?

Items in the highest demand include those the Food Bank often buys. The list includes macaroni and cheese, peanut butter, rice, pancake mix, canned chicken, boxed potatoes, canned fruit and canned green beans.

Where does Food Bank for the Heartland receive its food?

In FY 2017, 46 percent of the food received by the Food Bank came from corporate donors such as manufacturers, grocers and retail stores; 32 percent was purchased by the Food Bank; 20 percent came from USDA commodities; 2 percent from food drives

Where does Food Bank for the Heartland receive its funding?

The Food Bank has an operating budget of $9.4 million and employs 50 people. On average, about 37 percent of the Food Bank’s revenue comes from individual donors; 35 percent is provided by corporate donors; 25 percent comes via foundations. The remaining 3 percent consists of gifts from civic groups, churches and schools.

Does Food Bank for the Heartland sell food?

No. The IRS prohibits food banks from selling food. The IRS does allow food banks to request partner organizations to contribute a shared maintenance fee to defray the cost of soliciting, collecting, storing and distributing food. The shared maintenance fee differs per item ranging from 0-16 cents per pound. There is no shared maintenance on produce, bakery, government commodities and soda. About 50 percent of the food distributed by the Food Bank has no shared maintenance fee. Partner organizations are not allowed to sell food they receive from Food Bank for the Heartland and must distribute to individuals. If a partner organization cannot pay the recommended shared maintenance fee, the Food Bank will work with that organization to address the costs in another way.